Skip to content

Norwegian Award Spellemannprisen Announces Nominees

Norwegian Award Spellemannprisen Announces Nominees

Norwegian Award Spellemannprisen Announces NomineesThe Norwegian Music Award, Spellemannprisen, recently announced their nominees for the past year at a press conference in Oslo, Norway. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on March 30, 2019 at Chateau Neuf. The Orchard is proud to announce that our artists, labels, and partners have a collective of 50 nominations, with releases from over 35 different labels.

Thea Hjelmeland (Theah Records) received Best Alternative Album and Songwriter of the Year nominations for her album Kulla. Her music lives well through Film/TV, sync, festival and other live music performances. She will be performing at festivals including like Vossa Jazz, Miniøya & Øyafestivalen.

Norwegian Award Spellemannprisen Announces NomineesNorwegian metal is always making waves outside the country, and the amazing Sylvaine released her sophomore album Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone via Season of Mist in 2018. She was nominated for Best Metal Album of the Year, together with the amazing Oslo band, Beaten To Death (Mas-Kina Recordings).

Karpe, Arif, and Unge Ferrari joined forces last year under the collab called MARS, releasing an EP which earned them a nomination for Best Urban Recording of the Year.

Jansen Records is known as a dedicated label for high quality pop and alternative music, and we’re not surprised at all to see two nominations in the category Best Pop Group, for Band of Gold and Razika.

The Orchard represents a full spectrum of nominees within the genres of classical, folk music, blues and country. Malin Pettersen (Vestkyst Records) is nominated for her solo debut References Pt.1, in the same Country category as her father, Ivar Brynhildsen of the group Country Heroes.

And last, but not least, the worldwide hit ‘Ignite’ by K-391 (feat. Alan Walker, Julie Bergan and Seungri) is nominated for Record of the Year.

Congratulations to all our artists, labels, and partners who have been nominated. Check out the full list below and be sure to follow for the winners announced on March 30.

Children’s Music
Karoline Krüger og Fru Nitters Rytmeorkester – Labyrinter! (Grappa)
Naboen Min – Rockesock (IndigoBoom)
Tonje Unstad – Musling ed melk (Novise)
Mandarinsaft – På vei te en venn (Øra Fonogram)

Ulf Myrvold – Old Memories (Big Pink Records)
Geir Bertheussen Blues Express – Southside (Lydmuren)
J.T. Lauritsen – Blue Eyed Soul Volume 1 (Hunters Records)
Jørgen Sandvik – Permanent Vacation (Lekrofon)

Hege Øversveen – Goodbye Yellow Roses (Lydmuren)
Country Heroes – Honky Tonk Tears (Safe & Sound Recordings)
Malin Pettersen – References Pt. 1 (Vestkyst Records)
The Northern Belle – Blinding Blue Neon (Vestkyst Records)

Fakethias – Attune (Ball Em Up)

Folk Music / Traditional
Aslak Brimi Kvartett – Vev (Talik)
Johanne Flottorp – Johanne Flottorp (Talik)
Sudan Dudan – Heimen der ute (Talik)
Marja Mortensson – Mojhtestasse – Cultural Heirlooms (Vuelie)

Alternative (Indie)
Thea Hjelmeland – Kulla (Theah Music)

Gurls – Run Boy, Run (Grappa)
Atomic – Pet Variations (ODIN)
Hanna Paulsberg Concept + Magnus Bro – Daughter Of The Sun (ODIN)

Frida Fredrikke Waaler Wærwågen & Ingrid Andsnes – Metamorfose (Lawo Classics)
Tora Augestad & Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra – Portraying Passion (Lawo Classics)
Christian Ihle Hadland – Christian Ihle Hadland plays Domencio Scarlatti (Simax Classics)
Stavanger Symfoniorkester – Symphonic Dances (SSO Recordings)

Beaten To Death – Agronomicon (Mas-Kina Recordings)
Sylvaine – Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone (Season of Mist)

Pop Group
Band of Gold – Where’s The Magic (Jansen Records)
Razika – Sånn kjennes verden ut (Jansen Plateproduksjon)

Oslo Ess – Frie Radikaler (Drabant Music)
Årabrot – Who Do You Love (Pelagic Records)

Kjell Tore Innervik – Utopias – Radical Interpretations of Iconic Works for Percussion (2L)
Telemark Chamber Orchestra & Lars-Erik Ter Jung – Chasing Strings (Fabra)
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra – Ørjan Matre: Konsert for orkester (Lawo Classics)
Knut Olaf Sunde & Cikada String Quartet – Vertigo Room (Mere Records)


Singer/Songwriter (Viser)
Ingeborg Oktober – Skjømmingsboka (Clearpass)
Ellen Sofie Hovland – Og solen renner over (Kirkelig Kulturverksted)
Erik Lukashaugen – Vi eier skogene (Øksekar)
Masåva – Masåva (Øra Fonogram)

Non-genre specific (Åpen klasse)
Anja Garbarek – The Road Is Just a Surface (Drabant Music)
Harpreet Bansal – Samaya (Jazzland)
Amgala Temple – Invisible Airships (Pekula Records)

Composer of the Year (by TONO)
Anja Garbarek – The Road Is Just a Surface (Drabant Music)
Geir Holmsen – Et Stille Sted (Maj Britt Andersen) (Grappa)
Ørjan Matre – Ørjan Matre: Konsert for orkester (Lawo Classics)
Arve Henriksen / Eivind Aarset / Jan Bang – The Height of The Reeds (Rune Grammofon)

Songwriter of the Year
Thea Hjelmeland – Kulla (Theah Music)

Lyricist of the Year
Lars Saabye Christensen – Et Stille Sted (Maj Britt Andersen) (Grappa)

Record of the Year (Årets låt)
K-391 feat. Alan Walker, Julie Bergan & Seungri – Ignite (MER)

Image courtesy of

If you liked that post, here's more:


iHeartRadio Music Awards Announces 2019 Nominees

iHeartRadio announced the nominees for the sixth edition of the iHeartRadio Music Awards airing on Thursday, March 14 live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Known for it's star-studded appeal, the telecast will feature live performances and anticip...


Vote for your favorite Latin AMA Award Nominees!

The Latin American Music Awards honor some of the industry’s most celebrated artists in Latin pop, rock, regional Mexican, Tropical, and more. On Tuesday, September 18, Telemundo announced the 2018 Latin AMA Award nominees. This year’s big event will take p...


2017 Libera Award Nominees: Daptone Records, Relapse & More!

A2IM has announced the official nominees for this year's Libera Awards. Taking place at Playstation Theater on June 8th, the award series celebrates the best in independent music. From Creative Packaging to Best Sync Usage, A2IM leaves no stone unturned. ...