The Norwegian Grammys A.K.A Spellemannprisen Name Winners

The Norwegian Grammys A.K.A Spellemannprisen Name Winners

The annual Spellemann Awards (Spellemannprisen) took place March 30, 2019 and celebrated the shining Norwegian artists and releases of between January 1 and December 31 of 2018. Many of The Orchard’s partners were on the scene at Chateau Neuf for the event which aired on NRK 1.

Jansen Record’s group Band of Gold took home the award for Best Pop Group. The main members Nina Mortvedt and Nikolai Hængsle have both had expansive careers in music but together have developed a dedicated following with just two full length albums. The self-titled debut from 2015 helped them become the first Norwegian act to win the Nordic Music Prize at by:larm. Now, Band of Gold followed their debut with the 2018 album Where’s The Magic and are still making headlines.

See the full list of award winners here and The Orchard’s partners listed below:

Children’s Music
Naboen Min – Rockesock (IndigoBoom)

Jørgen Sandvik – Permanent Vacation (Lekrofon)

Malin Pettersen – References Pt. 1 (Vestkyst Records)

Folk Music / Traditional
Marja Mortensson – Mojhtestasse – Cultural Heirlooms (Vuelie)

Alternative (Indie)
Thea Hjelmeland – Kulla (Theah Music)

Gurls – Run Boy, Run (Grappa)

Tora Augestad & Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra – Portraying Passion (Lawo Classics)

Pop Group
Band of Gold – Where’s The Magic (Jansen Records)

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra – Ørjan Matre: Konsert for orkester (Lawo Classics)

Singer/Songwriter (Viser)
Ingeborg Oktober – Skjømmingsboka (Clearpass)

Composer of the Year (by TONO)
Ørjan Matre – Ørjan Matre: Konsert for orkester (Lawo Classics)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *