Skip to content

Celebrating The Orchard’s Spellemann Award Winners

<strong>Celebrating The Orchard’s Spellemann Award Winners</strong>

The 50th annual Spellemann awards, AKA the Norwegian Grammys, have announced their winners, honoring releases from 2022. The ceremony took place on Saturday, April 15th at the H3 Arena in Fornebu where everyone joined for the celebration. Congratulations to The Orchard’s distributed artists and labels on 15 wins!

Norwegian rap duo Karpe was highly awarded this year! Their EP titled Omar Sheriff received a total of 7 wins for Pop, Songwriter of the Year, Lyricist of the Year, Spellemann of the Year, Release of the Year, Song of the Year, and Producer of the Year! The duo has grown immensely since their debut in 2004 and risen to become the biggest act in Norway. Their songs combine Norwegian with Arabic, Hindi, Gujarati and English in a way that audiences have never heard before. 

In the Electronic category, ARY’s self-produced debut album For Evig took home the prize! The artist collides pop, techno, and other genres to create a space for fans to experience new sounds. Her music is heartbreaking, breathtaking, wild, and free. 

The Jazz collaboration album Oui by Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & GURLS received the award for the Jazz category! The trio GURLS is composed of members Rohey Taalah (vocals), Ellen Andrea Wang (bass), and Hanna Paulsberg (saxophone). The Oui live album came about from live recordings of performances at Jazzfest in Trondheim, Mandaljazz, Moldejazz and Sildajazz and also features vocalist Marianna Sangita.

Find the full list of The Orchard distributed wins below and the full list of winners here.


Embra and the Karidotters – Hello, I’m Embla (Die With Your Boots On Records)


ARY – For Evig (ARY / Little Big Sister)


Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & GURLS – Oui (Grappa Musikkforlag)


Kampfar – Til Klovers Takt (Indie Recordings)


Karpe – Omar Sheriff (Apen & Kjeften)


Honningbarna – Animorphs (Nye Blanke)

Contemporary Classical Music

Løvlid/Hytta/Nyhus – Unamna (Simax Classics)

TONO’s Composer Award

Inger Hannisdal – North South East West (Ok World / Jazzland)

Songwriter of the year 

Karpe – Omar Sheriff (Apen & Kjeften)

Lyricist of the Year 

Karpe – Omar Sheriff (Apen & Kjeften)

Producer of the Year

Aksel Axxe Carlson and Thomas Meyer Kongshavn – Omar Sheriff (Apen & Kjeften)

Release of the Year

Karpe – Omar Sheriff (Apen & Kjeften)

Song of the Year

Karpe – “” (Apen & Kjeften)

Spellemann of the Year

Karpe – Omar Sheriff (Apen & Kjeften)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lillebjørn Nilsen (Grappa Musikkforlag AS)

If you liked that post, here's more:


The Orchard Celebrates Juno Award Winners

The 52nd Annual JUNO Awards announced their winners for the 2023 season! The ceremony was held live from Rogers Place in Edmonton, Alberta, on March 13, 2023. The annual award show celebrates the best musicians, producers, and releases from the Canadian mu...


The Orchard Celebrates 2023 GRAMMY® Award Winners

The 65th Annual GRAMMY® Awards, also known as the biggest night in music, made its way to the arena in Los Angeles, California on Sunday, February 5, 2023. The ceremony featured stellar performances from our distributed artists, elegant appearan...